You are here

Home » About EFSEC » Independent State Agency

Independent State Agency

The Energy Facility Site Evaluation Council (EFSEC) will become an independent state agency on June 30, 2022. The 2022 Washington State Legislature passed E2SHB 1812 to authorize the change as an important step to achieve Governor Inslee’s carbon neutral goals by 2045.  This landmark legislation also ensures greater public transparency on planned energy production sites through public comment periods and forums. It also provides for a greater level of engagement for Federally recognized Tribes, local governments, and overburdened communities.

The current legislation also promotes a streamlined application review by adding a preapplication process to boost the completeness of submitted applications.  In addition, it allows the Council to review applications for new project types such as green hydrogen, clean energy product manufacturing facilities, and storage facilities.  This legislation, which becomes law on June 30, 2022, also includes methods for increased protection of cultural resources and environmental justice.

Sonia Bumpus has been appointed as the first EFSEC agency director to oversee operations and perform the administrative work of the Council. She will assume this position on June 30, 2022. Kathleen Drew will continue as the Council Chair.

The Council body consists of a governor-appointed Chair and State agency representatives from the Department of Commerce, Department of Ecology, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Department of Natural Resources (Commissioner of Public Lands), Utilities and Transportation Commission. Optional membership is extended to local governments, the Department of Agriculture, Department of Health, Department of Transportation, and the Military Department on a project-by-project basis.