You are here

Home » Energy Facilities » Transmission Corridors Work Group

Transmission Corridors Work Group


Mandated by Section 25 of the Clean Energy Transformation Act (CETA) of 2019, this 20-member body will meet for six separate day-long meetings running from September 2021 until June of 2022. The work group is expected to report its findings back to the Governor and legislature in a final report due by Dec. 31, 2022.

The Transmission Corridors Work Group was formed to:

  1. Review the need for upgraded and new electricity transmission and distribution facilities to improve reliability, relieve congestion, and enhance the capability of the transmission and distribution facilities in the state to deliver electricity from electric generation, non-emitting electric generation, or renewable resources to retail electric load.
  2. Identify areas where transmission and distribution facilities may need to be enhanced or constructed.
  3. Identify environmental review options that may be required to complete the designation of such corridors and recommend ways to expedite review of transmission projects without compromising required environmental protection.

See the TCWG Charter here.

Final report to the Governor

On October 31, 2022 the TCWG workgroup submitted their final report to the Governor.

TCWG - Final Report to the Governor

Meetingdates and times are shown below.  Livestream of the meetings during the scheduled time can be found at this link – TCWG Meeting Livestream

Meeting Date/Time


SEPTEMBER - Meeting #1

Date: Wednesday September 22, 2021

Time: 9am – 4:30pm

Location: VIRTUAL



OCTOBER - Meeting #2

Date: Wednesday October 20, 2021

Time: 9am – 4:30pm

Location: VIRTUAL



DECEMBER - Meeting #3 - Two Parts

Date: Wednesday December 8, 2021

Time: 9am – 12pm

Location: Virtual


Date: Thursday December 9, 2021

Time: 9am – 12pm

Location: Virtual



FEBRUARY - Meeting #4 - Two Parts

Date: Wednesday February 9, 2022

Time: 9am – 12pm

Location: Virtual


Date: Thursday February 10, 2022

Time: 9am 12pm

Location: Virtual



APRIL - Meeting #5 - Two Parts

Date: Wednesday April 13, 2022

Time: 9am – 12pm

Location: Virtual


Date: Thursday April 14, 2022
Time: 9am - 12pm
Location: Virtual



JUNE - Meeting #6 - Two Parts

Date: Wednesday June 8, 2022

Time: 9am – 12pm

Location: Virtual

Date: Thursday June 9, 2022
Time: 9am - 12pm
Location: Virtual





















































See timeline below:

TCWG timeline image


The 22-member Work Group consists of one representative from each of eight selected State agencies, one representative each from the affected utilities industry and Public Utility Districts, and two representatives each from the Association of Washington Cities, Association of Washington Counties, sovereign tribal governments, and statewide environmental organizations.  Representatives from Bonneville Power Association (BPA) and Department of Defense (DOD) are “ex-officio” members.

Representatives for the Transmission Corridors Work Group

Member org.

Org. type

Designated member(s)


Dept. of Commerce State agency Glenn Blackmon Michael Furze
UTC State agency Elizabeth O'Connell Mark Vasconi
Dept. of Ecology State agency Brendon McFarland Diane Butorac
DFW State agency Benjamin Blank Michael Garrity
DNR State agency Loren Torgerson George Geissler
WSDOT State agency Ahmer Nizam Justin Zweifel
Dept. of Arch. & Historic Pres. State agency Allyson Brooks tbd
Military Dept. State agency Bernard (Rick) Jackson Alan Dorow
AWC – Assoc. of WA Cities (2) Association Julie Coppock
Clint Whitney
Brandy DeLange
WSAC – WA State Assoc. of Counties (2) Association Kevin Shutty
Lindsey Pollock

Paul Jewell
Paul Jewell

Public utility districts (PUDs) Separate; have assoc. Nicolas Garcia Ian Hunter
Sovereign tribal governments (2)

Yakama Tribe
Snoqualmie Tribe

Dana Miller
Steven Mullen-Moses
Jeremy Takala
Affected utility industries (IOU) Pacificorp, PSE, Avista Lorna Luebbe (PSE) Sara Leverette (PSE)
Statewide env. orgs. 

Climate Solutions/
Front and Centered

Kelly Hall
Mariel Thuraisingham

Statewide env. orgs Columbia Riverkeepers Erin Saylor Loren Goldberg
BPA - Bonneville Power Admin. Federal entity Anders Johnson Ravi Aggarwal
US Dept. of Defense Federal entity Steve Chung Kim Peacher
Energy Project Developers Avangrid/Renewable Northwest Anders Bisgaard

Katie Ware

Labor & Building/Trades

IBEW 77/ WA State Building and Construction Trades Council Will Power Mark Riker

Public involvement

Meetings will be live-streamed for the public (meeting links coming soon).  EFSEC welcomes public comment on this process at any time.  Comments can be made after each meeting during the public comment period (limit 2 minutes per person), or emailed to:

Meeting recordings

Presentation recordings

  • A variety of recorded presentations can be seen in a Playlist on the EFSEC YouTube Page - EFSEC TCWG Playlist

    TCWG Sept 22 2021 Meeting documents

    Document Title Document Date
    Meeting 1 Presentation 09/22/2021
    TCWG Meeting 1 Agenda 09/22/2021
    Meeting 1 Summary 09/22/2021

    TCWG October 20 2021 Meeting documents

    TCWG December 2021 Meeting Documents

    TCWG February 2022 Meeting Documents

    TCWG April 2022 Meeting Documents

    TCWG June 2022 Meeting Documents

    Mailing list:

    If you would like to be added to the project mailing list, please click here